• IFAM congratulates Christian Gierden on winning the "Young Researchers Award" of ECCOMAS Thematic Conference on Computational Methods in Multi-scale, Multi-uncertainty and Multi-physics Problems (CM4P).
  • IFAM congratulates Gordan Thiede on successfully defending his doctoral thesis on the topic "Validation of Damage Parameter Based Finite Element Fatigue Life Analysis Results to Combustion Chamber Type Thermomechanical Fatigue Panel Tests".
  • Stefanie Reese has been elected vice-chairperson of the ICAMS advisory board. ICAMS is the Interdisciplinary Centre for Advanced Materials Simulation located at the Ruhr University Bochum, Germany.
  • We congratulate Marek Fassin on successfully defending his doctoral thesis on the topic "Modeling of gradient-extended anisotropic damage using a second order damage tensor".
  • IFAM congratulates Julian Kochmann on successfully defending his doctoral thesis on the topic "Efficient FE- and FFT-based two-scale methods for micro-heterogeneous media".
  • We congratulate Jaan Simon for being elected Secretary of the Tappi Paper Physics Committee.
  • The 5th GAMM AG Data workshop took place at IFAM.
  • IFAM congratulates Tim Brepols on winning the "Dr.-Klaus-Körper-Prize 2019" of the GAMM in recognition of his outstanding dissertation.
  • You are looking for a job as a student assistant? Please contact one of our co-workers.


Institute of Applied Mechanics - start

Welcome to the Institute of Applied Mechanics at RWTH Aachen University

Head: Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Stefanie Reese


Secretary: Eva-Maria Goertz

Mies-van-der-Rohe-Str. 1
D-52074 Aachen

Tel.   : +49 (0) 241 80 25001
Fax   : +49 (0) 241 80 22001
Email: info@ifam.rwth-aachen.de